The UK-EU trade deal, announced on 24 December 2020, includes agreements on air transport and aviation safety which are due to come into effect at 23.00 GMT on 31 December 2020 when the UK ceases to take part in the EU Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and other EU institutions.

While the agreements involve some elements of continuity, they do not constitute a replication of the UK’s regulatory arrangements as part of the EASA/EU framework and many sections of the aviation and aerospace industries will face changes after 31 December, as this microsite sets out.

We will study the detail of the new agreements and will update relevant pages of the microsite as information becomes clearer about how the new arrangements will work in practice. We will notify stakeholders of the updates through the SkyWise alert system. If you haven’t already done so, please subscribe to the EU exit category in the SkyWise system:

The most detailed and up-to-date information on specific aviation sectors can be found by clicking on the relevant tabs on the landing page of this microsite:

An information pack on how safety regulation will work with the UK outside EASA is available here.

Microsite content is regularly updated and you can be alerted to updates by subscribing to the EU exit category in our SkyWise alerting system:

UK aviation will be as safe after we leave the EU as before. 

We are committed to ensuring that the transition to new regulatory arrangements takes place as smoothly as possible for air travellers or businesses around the world.

We would therefore encourage you to share the link to this microsite with any organisations or individuals in your country who might benefit from the information.

How will the UK’s safety regulation work if the UK is outside the EASA system after December 2020?

The CAA has well-established plans to act as the UK’s aviation regulator, independent of EASA. These plans have been shared fully with ICAO.

NAAs may be assured that:

  • All EU regulations applicable at the end of the transition period will be retained in UK domestic legislation. The content of UK regulations will be unchanged from EU regulations at 23.00 GMT on 31 December 2020 and the CAA will continue to conduct oversight.
  • The UK will continue to fulfil all its obligations under the Chicago Convention.
  • The UK has re-established its aircraft design certification capability to fulfil its ICAO Annex 8 State of Design obligations so the UK can issue new approvals from 1 January 2021.

Will the UK continue to recognise EASA-issued certificates?

We will recognise EASA certificates, approvals and licences valid on 31 December 2020 for use in the UK aviation system and on UK-registered aircraft for up to two years.


Will certificates from CAA-approved organisations be compliant with ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs)?

Yes. Services and certificates provided by CAA-approved organisations should continue to be accepted on a global basis as the regulations, systems, oversight and approvals will continue to comply with ICAO SARPs.


What forms will the UK use to certify new and used parts?

CAA-approved organisations will issue a CAA Form 1 for new and used parts. This will be in place of the EASA Form 1 and be nearly identical in content and lay-out. An image is available here.


What will new UK flight crew licences look like?

They will be virtually identical to the current EASA licence. An image is available here.


What forms will the UK use to validate an aircraft’s certificate of airworthiness?

The CAA will issue a CAA ARC Form 15a and CAA-approved organisations will issue a CAA ARC Form 15b for aircraft airworthiness validations. These will be in place of the EASA ARC Form 15a and 15b and be nearly identical in content and lay-out. Sample images are available here for CAA Form 15a  and CAA Form 15b.


Will the UK recognise certificates issued by EASA member states that are not in the EU?

Yes. The UK will recognise certificates issued by EEA member states belonging to EASA and by Switzerland for up to two years after 31 December 2020.