The UK-EU trade deal, announced on 24 December 2020, includes agreements on air transport and aviation safety which are due to come into effect at 23.00 GMT on 31 December 2020 when the UK ceases to take part in the EU Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and other EU institutions.

While the agreements involve some elements of continuity, they do not constitute a replication of the UK’s regulatory arrangements as part of the EASA/EU framework and many sections of the aviation and aerospace industries will face changes after 31 December, as this microsite sets out.

We will study the detail of the new agreements and will update relevant pages of the microsite as information becomes clearer about how the new arrangements will work in practice. We will notify stakeholders of the updates through the SkyWise alert system. If you haven’t already done so, please subscribe to the EU exit category in the SkyWise system:

Significant UK airports hold a safety certificate issued by the UK CAA if they meet requirements set by the EASA Aerodromes Regulation. These aerodrome certificates will remain valid as they are national certificates granted in the UK (under EU legislation that will be incorporated into UK law on 31 December 2020).  No action is required.

Other aerodromes with a UK national licence issued by the UK CAA will be unaffected.